LOCAL GOVERNMENT OF CANADA.

of all the local municipalities of a county. Each municipal corporation is represented and administered by a board called the municipal council.

Local Municipalities.—These are constituted in the manner and according to the rules laid down by the municipal code; they are divided into two classes: rural or country municipalities and town and village municipalities. The former are subdivided into parish, part parish, township, part township, etc., municipalities. The municipal council is the organ of the local corporation. It consists of seven councillors chosen by the electors of the municipality, or appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council when the electors fail to elect within the limits of time prescribed by the law. The town or city municipal council consists of a certain number of aldermen elected by property owners and of a certain number of councillors elected by property owners and tenants. The council of a local municipality is presided over by a mayor elected by the members, or in default of election appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council. He presides at meetings of the council, watches over the interests of the municipality and maintains order and peace within its boundaries. The power conferred upon the municipal corporations are extensive; they are defined by law and apply generally to all questions of purely local interest. They relate especially to roads, waterways, health, regulation of the sale of alcoholic beverages, maintenance of peace and order, imposition of trading licenses, etc. To meet the cost of administration the municipal council has the right to collect by direct taxation of the taxable property of the locality, or by trading licenses, etc., all necessary sums of money within the limits of its powers. These levies are known as the municipal tax. The municipal taxes are levied on real property according to its value as inscribed on the valuation roll and on a list prepared by the Secretary-Treasurer and called the collection roll.

County Municipalities.—The county is a part of the territory of the province containing a certain number of municipalities. inhabitants of each county constitute a county corporation, and this corporation is represented by a council composed of the mayors of all the local municipalities of the county. The county council is presided over by one of its members elected annually at the March meeting and called a prefect; in default of such election the prefect is appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council. The place where the county council meets is called the capital of the county, and is fixed by the council itself. This council deals with all interparochial matters, that is to say, those which are common to more than one parish or local municipality. It has jurisdiction over roads and waterways running through two or more parishes, which are then county roads and waterways. The county council exercises all the powers conferred upon it by law and administers all the county business. It fixes the place where the circuit court is to sit, acts as a court of appeal from the decisions of the local councils and provides for the building of a Registry Office, which is a public office established by the provincial government for the registration in special books of deeds affecting real property, such as deeds of sale, contracts of marriage, wills and deeds of gift inter vivos.